Rowan County Democrats are excited to announce the following Democratic candidates are running for Rowan County Commissioners and seats in the NC General Assembly.

NOTE: None of our local candidates will be on your 2024 PRIMARY ballot. If a Democratic party candidate is not challenged in the primary, their name will not be on the primary ballot. They will appear on the General Election ballot in November where all will have a Republican challenger.

The 2 Democratic candidates running for the 2 open Rowan County Commissioner seats are:

  • Rowan County Commissioner  –  Shameka Jackson   
  • Rowan County Commissioner – Alissa Redmond   

You will elect 1 candidate for the NC Senate

  • NC Senate District 33 – Tangela Morgan   

Rowan County falls into 3 different NC House Districts – You will elect 1 candidate for the district where you live.

  • NC House District  76 – Alisha Byrd-Clark       
  • NC House district  77 – Kashmir Sibby
  • NC House District  83 – Joanne Chesley

US Congressional House District 6, that includes part of Rowan County, does not have a Democrat running for this office.